Skip to main content

Restrict access to Artspace channels

This guide covers setting up restricted channels for your Artspace and the role permissions needed.

Written by Ryan

Artspace channels can be accessible to all or only to selected roles. For example, you might want to have a channel that is only for your artspace admins, certain groups of artists, or is just an announcements channel that only you can send messages in.

There are a few important steps to set up restricted channels which will be covered below. You can also edit existing channels to change who has access to it.

For more about starting an Artspace, see this guide HERE.

First, create a channel

To create a channel, tap or hover on the title of the category. A + button should appear.

A window will pop up where you can choose the type of channel that you want to create, add a description, and choose the access settings

If you choose to restrict access, a new section appears for choosing which roles you want to grant channel access to.

IMPORTANT - Only permissions from the selected roles will apply in the channel.

The Artspace own and Admin can still access all channels even if set to restricted for different roles.

Restricting access to a channel after it's created

To restrict access to a channel after it's created, or to enable access to different roles, right-click or long-press on the channel to open a menu. Then go to your channel settings.

Alternatively you can open the channel and tap the three dots in the top right to open the menu and select Channel settings.

IMPORTANT - Channel permissions

Both access to a channel and what a member can do in that channel is tied to the role permissions. It is essential that you enable relevant permissions for a role if you want a user to be able to send chat messages or create boards, for example.

Essential permission - View Boards

For a channel's contents to be visible, make sure that the View boards permission is enabled for the role.

If this is the only permission enabled for the role, the channel is effectively an announcements channel where only the Artspace owner and admins can send messages.

You can find your role permissions in the Artspace settings:

How to create an announcements channel

If you want a text channel that people can see, but where only you can send important messages, follow these steps:

  1. Create a new role as shown above. For example, call it: News;

  2. Ensure that the Auto-assign to new members setting is enable for the role;

  3. Enable the View Boards permission only (and Chat reactions if you want it)

  4. Create your Announcements channel and restrict access to the News role.

Did this answer your question?